Campeooones, campeooones, olé olé oléeee

July 13, 2010

I am still recovering from the World Cup final. And no, I didn’t have too many beers (only one!), it’s just that after the interminable match I stopped to watch Spanish madness of the Champs Elysées. Although admittedly I didn’t care too much for either team, I was glad that Spain won because I knew the Parisian fans were going to give us something to watch on the Champs. And happiness is contagious, to the extent that I even caught myself singing along with a bunch of men going “yo soy español, español, español” (repeat to infinity). What can I say, sometimes it’s fun to party for absolutely no reason. So in the spirit of true sportsmanship, I put aside my bitterness and jealousy (wouldn’t it have been incredible if Italy had won again?) and pretended I was a Roja until it was time to snap back to reality and go to sleep.

Unsurprisingly, the media today is loaded with analyses and retrospectives of the first World Cup in Africa, and I’m having a hard time reading it all. Here are a few of my highlights:

* The New York Times notes that South Africa is not better off than before the World Cup came to town. What a surprise.

* Kickette gets all girlie and swoony over Iker Casillas’ post-match smooch with his sports reporter girlfriend. I give him ten points for spontaneity and charm!

* CNN reports on Sepp Blatter’s defence of Referee Web’s performance during the final. I thought he did great although the infamous chest kick probably deserved a red card!

* South African political cartoonist Zapiro gives us a few ideas for what to do with our vuvuzelas after the World Cup

Okay that’s all from me for now. Must get my beauty sleep in preparation for tomorrow night’s Bal des pompiers! The Bal des pompiers (literally, “the dance of the firemen”) are dances held in the inner courtyard’s of fire stations all over France on July 13 to celebrate la Fête Nationale on the 14th. According to this blog this dance is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Paris, with live orchestras,  DJs a fun crowd and great atmosphere. “Could you imagine this happening in London, New York or anywhere else in the world? No way!”

2 Responses to “Campeooones, campeooones, olé olé oléeee”

  1. Giovanna said

    I love firemen……

  2. frenkel said

    did you know the ‘yo soy espanol’ chant was actually created in 2008 to mock the russian football team? it’s actually sung to the tune of ‘kalinka’: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJzA98bfu54

Leave a Reply

