Car horns v. vuvuzelas

June 19, 2010

Car horns or vuvuzelas, which is worse? Right now, after two hours of hearing car horns and chanting and explosions on the Champs Elysees, I would almost prefer the vuvuzelas. As if to make up for the silence that ruled Paris last night (see my post below), the Algerian team supporters are taking to the streets tonight to celebrate their 0-0 score with England. And yes, they’re pretty excited about it. In fact, any time that they don’t lose a soccer match (and sometimes, even when they do), scores of Parisian-bases Algerians spend hours partying on the Champs Elysees.

I’m not sure why it has become their meeting place of choice, as there’s absolutely no cultural connection, but I suppose it’s a fun place to run around and toot your own horn, literally. Tonight, the festivities are particularly animated near my house, probably also because the Algerian fans were not able to watch the game on the large screen at Trocadero. For the first time since the beginning of the World Cup, the projection of a game was cancelled due to “unforeseeable circumstances”. Hmm. Why not just admit that the policiers just didn’t want to deal with possible clashes between English hooligans and extreme Algerian fans?

In any case, I am glad this busy week is over, and I can’t wait to reward my efforts tomorrow by visiting a magical place just outside Paris… Eurodisney! I’ve never been, and I’m curious to see whether this visit bring back any memories from my visit to Disneyland, California (a long, long time ago… when I was still not tall enough for all the rides). This means I am missing tomorrow’s matches, but I’m sure they won’t compare to the excitement of the matches today! Between Germany’s loss and Klose’s red card, the daylight robbery of the US’s third goal against Slovenia and England’s weak game against Algeria, I’m not quite sure what to think about this World Cup anymore. With all the favoured teams to win are playing poorly, it really feels like something is off, doesn’t it?

One Response to “Car horns v. vuvuzelas”

  1. Giovanna said

    God save Capello!

Leave a Reply

